Skip to content

6th Sunday of Easter

April 27, 2008

At Mass this morning as I listened to the Readings and the homily of our chaplain I couldn’t help but reflect upon them. I thought about the Samaritans conversion in Acts. What would’ve happened if Phillip hadn’t gone to Samaria in the first place. The people wouldn’t have known the Good News. It makes me think of my own conversion story and how the example of a good friend was the catalyst for my own search for the Truth. I lost touch with that friend but he holds a special place in my heart. I am so grateful that God placed him in my life at that time.

Looking at the reading from 1 Peter I was thinking about the part that says “…Always be prepared to make a defense to any one who calls you to account for the hope that is in you, yet do it with gentleness and reverence;”(Vs. 15). It reminds me that each of us has a special role in evangilization-to be a light in the midst of darkness. Where in the Bible does it say that Jesus’ followers are to be the salt of the Earth… I don’t remember… I am taking a Bible class as part of my formation but we’ve only covered Genesis thru part of Numbers. If anyone knows where that is please feel free to leave a comment as it would be much appreciated…

(Vs. 18-19) “I will not leave you desolate; I will come to you. Yet a little while, and the world will see me no more, but you will see me; because I live, you will live also.”
In the Gospel of John(above) it These two verses in John are comforting. It’s nice to know that God will not leave us… even as I sit here He is with me… and He lives in us all… Completely unfathomable. I don’t think that I will ever come to fully understand that. But it’s ok because there are some things you just take on faith.

Well, that’s all for now. I’ll try to make the posts more regular.

God bless and good night.

Jaimie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

