Skip to content

New Novice…Almost

June 21, 2008

A week or so ago I was informed that I have been accepted into the Novitiate. That will take place on August 6th(after our week-long silent retreat). I am very excited for this new phase in my formation. It will be a time of exterior and interior transformation. Yesterday Sister Mary John asked me to start planning my Thanksgiving Prayer Service(which is on the Evening of August 5th) and my Reception Ceremony. I have picked some hymns but maybe some of you can think of a few Scripture verses.

 Also another thing I’ve been thinking about it which names I will submit to our Major Superior. We can submit a list of three names.(I will find out which one I will get during the ceremony) Anyone have any ideas?

 Thanks in advance for your help & God bless!

 Jaimie

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    June 24, 2008 12:46 am

    Congratulations Jaimie, my prayers are with you.

  2. June 25, 2008 7:24 am

    Thank you Barbara. I am looking forward to the next step in formation, remembering to also stay in the present. God is good!

  3. Pam permalink
    June 27, 2008 4:20 am

    Jamie,
    That’s great about your next part of your formation. As for name idea’s what about any saints that you like?
    Pam

  4. June 27, 2008 7:39 am

    Hi Pam,

    Thanks for the advice… I’ve got a few ideas, but I am having a hard time coming up with different ones. So far the two names I have in mind are a variation of each other. If you can think of any names you’d pick please let me know.

    Thanks in advance and God bless!

    Jaimie

  5. Denise permalink
    June 28, 2008 4:56 pm

    Hey Jaimie! Congrats. I was thinking about your 3 names and last night I decided what I want my 3 choices to be. Feel free to take one if you like it. 1) Mary Anthony 2) Mary Francis or 3) Gemma Galgani. There are so many to choose from, isn’t it fun picking them out? Happy name choosing.

  6. lauren permalink
    June 29, 2008 7:08 am

    Well, Jaimie, I don’t know you, but there are lots of names I just love (if one sounds good, pray about it and use it/ a variation of it if you’d like… just fyi, they’re not in any particular order):
    Sr. Miriam
    Sr. Vincent Mary
    Sr. John Paul
    Sr. Mary Karol (for JPII)
    Sr. Mary Pia (for Padre Pio)
    Sr. Mary Kolbe (for Maximillian Kolbe)
    Sr. Teresa Benedicta
    Sr. Felicity Marie (I like this, because Felicity was a martyr-she was a really strong woman- and her name means happiness)
    Sr. Perpetua Marie
    Sr. Angela Maria (for Angela of Foligno- a Franciscan)
    Sr. Bernadette Mariae
    Sr. Francesca
    Sr. Paola (it is now the year of St. Paul)
    Sr. Veronica Marie
    Sr. Sophia Marie (Sophia is greek for wisdom, it’s a name of the Holy Spirit)

    Also, Have you ever thought of something with your name patron: Sr. Mary James?
    I know it’s a lot of names, but they are some that I’ve come across and just loved.

  7. June 29, 2008 10:20 am

    Thank you Denise and Lauren for your wonderful suggestions and kind words. I have a lot to think about now.

  8. Denise permalink
    June 29, 2008 11:30 am

    Lauren, I like the name Sr. Perpetua Marie. Who does it relate to?

  9. lauren permalink
    June 30, 2008 1:05 pm

    Jaimie, so sorry to hijack your post, but…
    St. Perpetua was also a martyr. She was a friend of St. Felicity’s. Another strong woman of the faith. She was in her early twenties when she died, completely unafraid of the sufferings she knew she would endure because she knew that it was the will of God.

    Jaimie, I hope you have a very blessed home visit and retreat before you enter the novitiate. May God bless both you and your family immensely!!

  10. Patty permalink
    July 6, 2008 8:19 am

    Dear Jaimie,
    If I were in your shoes, I would think about finding a name either from a saint who embodied a special quality or whose life you might want to emulate, especially a Franciscan one. Another possibility is to take the name of parents or grandparents. You could also ask your parents for suggestions, after all, they did a nice job the first time around, and I think they would find it an honor and a privilege to do it again. God bless!

  11. Amanda permalink
    July 21, 2008 9:26 pm

    Hi Jaimie,

    Sorry, I didn’t respond to this sooner. Some great suggestions you have been given! Some of the teens that I catechize were asking me about the process, and how one would choose. Then they just got goofy telling me I should be Sr. Donovan McNabb or Hannah Montana. I didn’t verbalize this, but I just started thinking about how much I have prayed about my future religious name, and equating it to a young woman searching for the perfect bridal gown. I don’t know why I was thinking of it like that; call me crazy, or maybe just silly! It’s exciting to be able to think about all of those saints and holy people we know who have inspired our journeys. Anyway, I pray that the Lord enlightens you with a name that inspires and guides your life! I will be very anxious to learn what Christ places in your heart! Amanda

  12. July 22, 2008 4:11 am

    Hello Amanda,

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about religious names. I have been thinking about it quite a bit. Last week I was asked to turn in my list of three preferences, so my end of the “decision” is made and now it is up to the Lord.(speaking through the Superior, of course) I had never thought to pair choosing a religious name with a bride-to-be choosing a wedding gown. However, I guess that makes sense, because “my” name seemed to pick me-it came to me so quickly and would not leave- and I would guess that it is a similar situation to the bride-to-be. I would think that when “the one” was revealed, that you would just know. Anyway that is my two cents. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. You are in my prayers.

    God bless. Jaimie

  13. July 22, 2008 9:40 am

    Hi Jaimie, thanks for posting on our blog and for your prayers and greetings to our Sr Mary Magdalen on her feast day, please pass mine on to her too. I just had to check your community and blog out and I do think they are both great. From the start I was wondering when you were going to become a novice so I read through the whole site and blog to find out, Congratulations, I am so very pleased for you and I will ask our sisters to pray for you over your retreat – what day does it begin and what time are you being clothed? I imagine by now you are well into the fittings and trying everything on – personally I loved all of that and got quite emotional about it and now I am blessed to wear this habit – hopefully for ever, as you will soon wear yours too.
    Your life looks busy, challenging, inspiring and very God centered, you are all doing wonderful work, be happy always especially now, it is a special time, pax et bonum, Sr Marie Therese, novice OSB, Colwich, England.

  14. July 22, 2008 5:56 pm

    Hello Sr. Mari Therese,

    What a beautiful name, by the way.(and I really enjoy reading all about Benedictine monastic life on your blog. It’s wonderful.) I will let our Sister Magdalen know of your greetings. I will be going on retreat from July 30th to August 6th.(which is the day I’ll be recieved into the Novitiate-2pm on the 6th to be exact). Thank you in advance for all your prayers. I had my first habit fitting the middle of last week. It was a very special time for me as well. One more fitting to go till reception day. I am really treasuring these last days of my Postulancy. Wow, Reception is so close… Amazing…

    In Christ’s peace, Jaimie

  15. Pam permalink
    July 23, 2008 1:04 am

    Are you able to share what your name choice were?
    Pam

  16. July 23, 2008 7:08 am

    Pam,

    Thank you for the question.

    As I have shared them only with my Formation Director and the Major Superior, I’d prefer not to say, but rest assured I’ll anounce my new name and also give the other two runners-up just as soon as possible. 🙂

    God bless! Jaimie

  17. Vite permalink
    July 30, 2008 10:54 am

    Congrats, Jaimie – I’m a PM’er who has kept you in her prayers. Your thanksgiving ceremony sounds like a lovely thing. I can’t wait to hear your new name. Obviously, it is a name that should relate somehow to your inmost being and favorite devotion or meditation.

    But, I have to say, I always thought Maria Kolbe was a great name for a Franciscan!

    Will keep you in prayers!

Leave a Reply

