Skip to content

Habit Fitting

July 24, 2008

Ok, so this morning Sister Rose Therese and I took a drive out to the Motherhouse(about 15 minutes away) for me to try on my new habits and veils for the second time.  The habits still need a little alteration, but I’m not too concerned about them. The veil on the other hand… Just a wee bit complicated to get it on… and yet another challenge to get it to stay put. Another issue is that my hair is so long that it got in the way. I guess I just have to get used to it and I’ll eventually find a system that works for me. I’ll also get one of the Sisters to cut my hair when the time comes- but for today’s fitting it was just in the way.  This afternoon I’m going to devote to classwork… Which means I’ve got to get going…

 God bless…

Jaimie

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    July 24, 2008 5:32 pm

    Oh, how exciting, Jaimie! I am so happy for you. Cherish this time. Know of my fervent prayers! Amanda

  2. July 24, 2008 8:23 pm

    Hi Jaimie, thanks for posting on our blog and for the lovely things you wrote, it’s great having the habit fittings, it brings everything so much closer and more real – I know you understand that one. Our veils are complicated too and after 6 months they can still be frustrating to get on but I no longer notice them generally as they quickly become part of you. I started off with long hair but it felt bulky so a hairdresser friend cut it into a short bob – too short, it stuck out and made me itch, now it has grown long enough to have 2 short pig tails which stay neat though i wouldn’t want them seen in public!. You will find your own way with your hair and I think it’s all part of the fun. Our habit is very comfy to wear but quite hot at times though that could be my age – I am 42 so also an ‘older’ vocation. God Bless you, Sr Marie-Therese.

  3. July 25, 2008 9:01 am

    Thank you Amanda for keeping me in your prayers. I am trying to concentrate on “staying in the moment” and consequently am immensely enjoying these last weeks.

    God bless. Jaimie

  4. July 25, 2008 9:07 am

    Thanks for the advice Sister Marie-Therese, and about how the veil will “become part of me”, as yesterdays fitting was far from that. Today I got my veil and crown(stays under veil to give it shape) back after alterations and tried it on and it was much more comfortable-thank goodness. Plus I think that getting my hair cut will help. In any case, thanks again for the advice.

    In Christ, Jaimie

Leave a Reply

