Skip to content

New Novice!

August 7, 2008

Before Reception

Yesterday was the big day.(Feast of the Transfiguration) I was recieved into the Novitiate at 2pm in our Motherhouse Chapel. Needless to say I was SO nervous…

You know, it occured to me last night that I’m now engaged. What more could a woman want in a man? In my opinion Jesus couln’t be a more perfect spouse. I know that it may sound like an interesting comparison to some, but nonetheless true. From my understanding that is the same way that St. Clare felt at her Clothing. So, there you go. My two cents.

 Oh, I almost forgot, my name in religion is Sister M. Veronica, OSF.

P.S.- I’ll elaborate on the retreat preceeding my reception another time, although it was a wonderful, grace filled 7 days.

God bless and keep you, Sister Veronica

Reception

  

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Mari permalink
    August 7, 2008 1:09 pm

    Yay, Sr. Veronica! God bless you on your espousal to Christ.

  2. Denise permalink
    August 7, 2008 2:51 pm

    Thats a beautiful comparison, what an insight.

  3. Amanda permalink
    August 7, 2008 9:06 pm

    Praise God, Sr. M. Veronica! What a grace! I have and will continue to pray for you! Looking forward to seeing you in a couple of days! In Jesus, through Mary!

  4. August 8, 2008 4:09 am

    Thank you Mari, Denise, and Amanda for your thoughtsand prayers for me during retreat/reception. It certainly was grace filled… God continues to surprise me… just when I think He couldn’t be more generous, He out does Himself 🙂

  5. Catherine permalink
    August 8, 2008 8:10 am

    Congratulations! I really relate to your reference to being “engaged” to Jesus. I am too, in a somewhat different way. I am a candidate for the Rite of Consecration for a Virgin Living in the World. The date has been set for next April. It is the most amazing feeling to experience Jesus in such an intimate way.

    It’s wonderful to see the pictures and to share in your joy. I will keep you in my prayers.

  6. August 8, 2008 9:17 am

    Thank you for the warm wishes and prayers. I will also keep you in my prayers regarding your upcoming consecration. What a blessing and a profound witness your vocation is. Thank you for stopping by our blog and check back for updates.

    May God bless and keep you.

    In Christ and St. Francis, Sister Veronica

  7. Sr. Carina permalink
    August 8, 2008 9:18 am

    God bless you, Sister! Yes, you have indeed chosen the perfect spouse-to-be, and I congratulate you as you now take the first steps into a full relationship with both the Lord and your community. What could be better than this?

    Yours in Christ,
    Sr. Carina of the Mostholy Sacrament, Sweden.

  8. August 8, 2008 12:57 pm

    Dear Sister Veronica,
    (How fun to use that form of address with you now!) Thanks for sharing and for the pictures. Could you please provide the names and positions of the Sisters on your right and left so I can include them with the picture I just added on my blog? I am assuming one is Superior General and one Novice Mistress and you probably have done this somewhere else on this blog already, but just to make things easy on me??? Thanks!!

    In Christ,
    Sister Laurel Maureen
    Stillsong Hermitage

  9. August 11, 2008 9:45 am

    Huge Congratulations Sr Veronica, you look wonderful, so alive and happy, it is so great to see you like this. We kept you in our prayers during retreat and on your day – the first day of your new life in a sense. Here we take our age in community from our Clothing day – do you do the same or is it from profession like some? If it’s from the day itself you are a newborn, vibrant , alive, growing all the time and very much loved and cherished. Now your life as a religious really begins as people will see you as a sister – both a priviledge and a challenge.

    Did you know that you have your own flower too? Veronica is the ‘proper’ name for a little bluish purple flower called Speedwell, its very lovely and has lots of healing properties so it goes well with Veronica wiping the face of Christ – healing and nurturing him.

    May i ask – did you choose your name or did your superior – if you chose it why? Forgive my nosyness if it’s too personal. Thanks for posting on our blog, I missed our conversations across the pond too and hope we can keep them up – as time lets us both anyhow. With lots of peace, joy and blessings to you Sr Veronica – are you having fun finding a way of writing that? Sr Marie-Therese.

  10. August 12, 2008 3:43 am

    Sister Carina,

    Thank you for your warm wishes. I couldn’t be happier as I begin this new phase of my life in Christ.

    In Christ, Sister Veronica

  11. August 12, 2008 4:03 am

    Sister Marie-Therese,

    Thank you and your community for the kind thoughts, and for keeping me in your prayers during my retreat and reception. About my age in community, I’ll have to check into that, I do know that I am a member of the community, therefore designated Sister and OSF is after my name.

    That is so neat to think that there is a flower named Veronica. 🙂 It sounds beautiful.

    You can keep your baptismal name or, the Postulant is able to submit three preferences, but the Superior chooses. Veronica is very special to me because of her compassion and care of Christ. Also the name was derived from Vera-true, Icon-image. So, since we are all called to imitate Christ, the name spoke to me. And I was given my first choice. My other choices were Veronica Marie and Mary Grace. I was so happy when our Superior said my name during the ceremony.(I was happy the whole time, but especially happy then) Thanks for asking, becuase I know that in some communities your name is chosen for you-and I think in ours pre-Vatican II that that was the case.

    I am getting used to typing and writing Sister Veronica more than I’m used to hearing it. When you’ve been called something your whole life, it is an adjustment. But I’m getting used to it.

    In Christ and St Francis, Sister Veronica

  12. Pam permalink
    August 13, 2008 7:31 am

    Sister Veronica,
    God’s Blessings be upon you! It is amazing how He works!
    Pam

  13. Birgitta permalink
    August 15, 2008 6:10 pm

    Yay! I didn’t know this blog existed! What a wonderful means of leading others to discover the joy of the OSF Sisters! Hope our paths cross soon, Sister Veronica!

  14. Roxana Rodriguez permalink
    August 16, 2008 12:19 pm

    Sister Veronica,
    Congratulations!!!!
    This is so exciting!
    Please, post some more pictures!

  15. Fr. David Turner, O.S.B. permalink
    August 18, 2008 7:37 am

    Dear Sister Mary Veronica,

    I think my last attempt to send a message ended up in the “delete” basket! If it did not, bear with a “repeat” letter!

    I just got off the phone (Monday morning) with Sister Judith Ann who gave me permission to send you a gift that I have made. You will get a small box containing a Franciscan Crown made of olive wood beads from, Bethlehem. It has a San Damiano Crucifix and a St. Francis centerpiece.

    I enjoy making rosaries and, interestingly, I still have the original pair of rosary pliers that I received from Father Thomas Havlik, who was our college rector, when I started making rosaries! I do hope you will get many years of prayer with these beads! I had one small problem: I always try to convince people to keep a rosary in a small pouch. However, the rosary cases they make today are not designed to hold a seven decare with 8 mm. beads! So the pouch I had holds the crown but has nothing to aid is closing! The crown simply would not fit the normal rosary cases that I have and ususally use.

    Brother Columban did tell me aboiut the “blog” and Sister Judith Ann said you read mail daily! That is a good thing because you will be to encouirage young people to recognize God’s call to conscrated life. I will be interested in your reactions to the retreat!

    Keep up your good spirit of the Canonican Novitiate! This is an important time when you really lay the groundwork for the gift of yourself in profession. Know that I will pray for you!

    Yours devotedly,

    Fr. David Turner, O.S.B.

Trackbacks

  1. Habits and Vows, again | The Anchoress

Leave a Reply

