Skip to content

Garden and Kitchen Adventures

August 20, 2008

Mustard Greens

Mustard Greens

So, since the Mustard Greens are huge I decided that today was the day to harvest and cook the greens. The harvesting was the easy part. Novice is a good description of my culinary skills also.(Mom always made it look so easy!) I started my adventure in the kitchen by burning the bacon-luckily the fire alarm was not set off. I tried again with the bacon and the second time is the charm. (Sister Magdalen rescued me by finishing to clean the greens so that I could just chop them and add them to the pot) Thank you Sister Magdalen!

I’m amazed at how long it takes to cook-and also the effort required. I had unrealistic expectations I guess. Plus last time I cooked greens I forgot all the headache after I tasted them. Maybe next time I’ll remember. Who knows. Well, that was my adventure in the kitchen today. Now I’m off to make my Holy Hour.(just me, Jesus, and the Rule- I can’t wait!)

God Bless.
Sister Veronica

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Birgitta permalink
    August 20, 2008 3:08 pm

    Here’s a secret to bacon….you can bake it in the oven. Just get some jelly roll pans (or any non stick cookie sheet with edges on all sides will work) and put the bacon on, one slice next to the other. Bake at 400 until desired crispness is achieved, usually between 10-17 mins depending on the thickness etc. You will want to turn it once on the sheet and may want to rotate the sheet 180 degrees once. Then all you have to do is drain it or paper towel it, whatever you prefer and voila! Yumminess without all the splattered greasy mess! And less watching! And, best of all, no grease burns on your hands if it spatters!

    God Bless, Birgitta

  2. August 21, 2008 3:42 am

    Hi, Sr Veronica, this gave me such a laugh, my imagination ran riot – I can alos identify with the madness of the kitchen. Great that your greens are coming up as are ours and that you are ‘enjoying?’ cooking them and being rescued. Have fun, pax Sr Marie Therese ps – I am now off to my adoration :0 :0 :0

  3. Denise permalink
    August 24, 2008 7:40 am

    That sounds like a lot of fun Sr. Veronica. I have grapes in my yard and once a year I have a great time ‘harvesting’ them. When I do it I feel like a real farmer. It’s really fun. I make raisins out of them. This year I didn’t do it, though, because I was lazy and I think the squirrels and racoons ate them. But last year I made about 6 sandwich bags full of raisins. I like to put them in cream of wheat. It actually tastes really good. When our peaches get ripe, which will be anytime now, I’m going to take them to the neighbors. Now that I had a break between classes, I also said a holy hour. I think its a special gift of the holy spirit to be able to pray it. I have a beautiful holy hour that I found online from a visionary in Cochabamba, Bolivia that was supposedly dictated to her by Jesus. It’s glorious. You’d be so proud of me, Sr. Veronica because I’ve been cleaning my room and going through my stuff. I’ve already taken 3 large trash bags to the recycle bin and I’ve made 9 boxes for good will. I’m trying to prepare myself for the day that, God-wiling, I will be able to join an order. Thanks for your prayers! It’s so nice to read everyone’s posts.

  4. August 25, 2008 5:49 pm

    Birgitta,

    Thank you for the tips on the bacon. I’ll try that next time 🙂

  5. August 25, 2008 5:54 pm

    Sister Marie Therese,

    Glad to hear that you enjoyed my “tales” of the garden. I recently gave alot of greens to our African chaplains-they are much appreciative because they are familiar with Collards and Kale. One of the kind Fathers even promised me a sample of them when he cooks them. I can’t wait-as I love to try new foods.

  6. Birgitta permalink
    August 25, 2008 5:59 pm

    Anytime 🙂 I just did the bacon thing this weekend, and it took longer. Just keep an eye on it! I had to drain the grease off when I turned to too. And it helps to cut the strips in half.

    Hmmm, you know, now that I think about it I don’t know that I’ve ever had collard greens! How funny is that. Now grits on the other hand . . .

    Glad you’re bringing a bit of the south to the mid-west.

    Pray for me at your holy hour, I’m off to Ministry Development tomorrow.

  7. August 25, 2008 6:03 pm

    Denise,

    I bet having grapes in your yard is fun. I would enjoy making raisins. I don’t know about the cream of wheat thing-being from the South that was almost considered a bad word. HaHa. Instead of cream of wheat I like grits. Have you ever tried them?

    Making a holy hour is so special to me. Sometimes I meditate with my Rosary, sometimes I use our Rule and Constitutions, it all depends on what strikes me. The holy hour meditation you found sounds wonderful.

    That is so great that you are starting now to simplify your life, as it will make it much easier in the future when you are preparing to enter. I continue to pray for you in your discernment. God will show you the way-keep your eyes on Him- that is the key.

    God bless.
    Sister Veronica

  8. August 25, 2008 6:10 pm

    Birgitta,

    Grits are so wonderful. So are Collards. If my Collards come in again I’ll harvest and cook some more and ask Sister Rose Therese to track you down. I just gave all the Collards away to our African chaplains. They were really appreciative.

    Prayers coming. Ministry development sounds like a wonderful experience. Enjoy 🙂

    Sister Veronica

  9. Denise permalink
    August 26, 2008 2:56 pm

    Thanks, sister Veronica. When all was said and done, I had a whopping 12 boxes for good will, 3 trash bags full of good will stuff and 3 large trash bags of recycling. What a pack rat I am! Now all the stuff I have is only the things I really like. But it, too, will have to be parted with when I go. Yes I really like grits. You’re such an inspiration, thank you sister.

  10. Alice permalink
    January 18, 2010 10:13 am

    Had to chuckle at the bacon. My husband often takes over for me when cooking bacon in self=preservation – and we won’t even talk about the rolls for holiday meals!

    I was touched by Denise’s preparation for entering the convent. Several years ago we moved to another state and it was an opportunity to rid myself of a lot of “things”. I probably cling to books to most, nevertheless, gave away or donated most of my books including an extensive professional library. And then there was the “world’s longest continuous garage sale” where we got rid of a lot of house hold items. Many other things were “downloaded to our children and nieces and nephews. I felt amazingly “light” after all that. Things are now more utility than treasures. At my age, I see is was kind of a practice for letting go. You will be in my thoughts and prayers (when I remember!)

    Oh, about that bacon – try putting a rack on the cookie sheet. The bacon drains that way and gets crisp!

  11. January 18, 2010 12:05 pm

    Hello Alice,

    You know it’s funny, I haven’t had the chance to cook greens since about May of last year, as one of our resident groundhogs took care of the greens since then- actually he ate most of the garden including Sister Mary Stephanie’s hot pepper plants! Go figure! In any case, maybe this coming spring and summer will be better.

    Isn’t is a wonderful feeling to shed all the unnecessary “stuff”? I think so. And as a religious it is one of the concrete ways to live out the vow of poverty.

    Thank you for the prayers and the tip on cooking the bacon– both are much appreciated. 🙂

  12. Casey permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:55 am

    Dear Sr. Veronica –

    I loved reading about your bacon-related adventures. You are just a riot. Keep at it, cooking gets easier with time. : o

  13. January 21, 2010 3:56 pm

    Casey,
    Thanks for the encouragement. Hopefully this summer we’ll be able to plant some again. Gardening is fun!

    God bless. Sr. Veronica

Leave a Reply

