Skip to content

Rain, Rain Go Away…

September 15, 2008

Well, today is the first day that it hasn’t rained in the last week I think. Central Illinois has been getting a lot of the rain from the recent hurricanes. I guess compared to the damage caused by Gustav, Hannah, and Ike I have nothing to complain about. But, I thought I’d share with you the events of Friday evning. I was almost sound asleep(around 10:15pm) when I heard the sound of running water-in my room.(there was a severe thunderstorm going on outside, mind you) I look over at the wall to discover that water is pouring down my wall and onto the floor(carpeted). So, luckily it hadn’t gotten onto my night table containing books, a lamp, and by alarm clock.(among other things) All I could do was rearrange my furniture and put towels down. I was very lucky that it wasn’t worse. All this and I had to get up early to get ready for a spiritual workshop at the Motherhouse on Saturday.

Convent life is never dull!

Hope everyone is having a great day!

May God bless and Mary keep,

Sister Veronica

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Birgitta permalink
    September 15, 2008 2:17 pm

    Oh no! We had a mini-lake in our backyard as we discovered that the land slopes downward through our yard to the culvert one yard over!

    Hope you got your leak fixed! Hmm, is there a patron saint of hurricanes I wonder?!

  2. Denise permalink
    September 16, 2008 2:53 pm

    When you say early, how early is that?

  3. September 16, 2008 3:41 pm

    Birgitta,

    My parents had a “mini-lake” in their backyard recently too. Luckily it dried up within a few days. With as many hurricanes as we’ve had recently I hope there is at least a patron saint of inclement weather.

    God bless.

  4. September 16, 2008 3:42 pm

    Denise,

    Early for a Saturday morning was about 5:30am. I usually get up around 7am. The worshop was great though-well worth the early wake-up.

  5. September 19, 2008 6:18 am

    Hi Sr Veronica, i know what you mean about the rain, we have had rain every day for the last month too and our veggie field is water-logged ( clay underneath) so the veg is rotting before it is fully ripe. It needs some sun! We have been lucky too though as apart from finding some holes in the roof which let in rain and a small flood in a work room we were pretty ok and they have now been fixed, other places in England had a bad time though. The sun is out today alleluia!
    I’m glad you had no damage, hope the workshop went well, have fun sr marie-therese.

  6. Denise permalink
    September 22, 2008 7:32 pm

    5:30 is not bad. I’m glad to hear the workshop went well. It sounds neat. I’ve been accidentally doing your ‘caffeine at bedtime’ routine, because I really like green tea. (I found flavored green tea with no calories). I noticed I was early for work a whole week in a row, because the caffeine helps me wake up in the morning when I drink it the night before. Go figure!

  7. Birgitta permalink
    September 27, 2008 9:45 pm

    Speaking of “home”, I’ll be there in Dec for 2.5 weeks around Christmas. Let me know if you need me to bring/take anything for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

