Skip to content

Writers Block

September 23, 2008

So, I thought I’d ask you all what you’d like me to write about(or maybe someone can suggest something for us to discuss) as I’m having a bad case of writers block lately. In the meantime, here are a few pictures taken at our Motherhouse a couple of weeks ago.

Enjoy!

Sunflower by Greenhouse

Sunflower by Greenhouse

   

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Pladdermusen permalink
    September 25, 2008 12:44 pm

    Please write more about your novitiate! What you study, your insights, problems you stumble across and how you choose to solve them… we are many readers out here who are most interested in knowing about the novitiate formation life!

    God bless you and your sisters!

  2. Fr. David Turner, O.S.B. permalink
    September 28, 2008 3:56 pm

    I had to figure out how to use this blog! Sometimes I do believe that I am “technophobic.” In addition to the Franciscan Crown that I made and sent to you, I had another gift–a “Veronica” gift–but I couldn’t find it! I finally found it today and will put it into the mail this week.

    You probably know, by now, a lot of stories about “Veronica’s Veil,” but more so the explanations about the Shroud of Turin. You must have read by now the stories about what happened when photography was invented and they looked at negatives to see the face of Jesus. I wanted to send you a copy of that negative, though with a “special effect” that takes place when you pull the card up that is behind the negative and you see what they believe Jesus actually looked like, based on the structure of the negative of the shroud. I thought this would make a nice “Veronica” picture for your room and be a source of prayer. Be careful when you put your fingers between the film and lift the card carefully. You will have a very interesting surprise!

    Keep up your good spirit in the novitiate! Fom so many of us, it was our “honeymood with the Lord.”

    Fr. David, O.S.B.

  3. Birgitta permalink
    September 29, 2008 1:26 am

    P.S. Sunflowers are my favorite! But, I’ve never been able to get them to grow. Did that one start from a seed or did y’all get it as a plant?

    I’d love to hear more about how the Franciscan spirit imbues the daily lives of the Sisters if you’ve still got writers block.

  4. September 29, 2008 3:42 am

    Father David,

    Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness in making me the Franciscan Crown and for this new “Veronica” gift. I look forward to getting it in the mail. The Franciscan Crown is absolutely beautiful and very meaningful to me-when I pray the Franciscan Crown I remember retreat.

    God is good.

    Sr. Veronica

  5. September 29, 2008 3:43 am

    Birgitta,

    I’m pretty sure that the sunflower came from seed but I’m not sure- I’ll ask. Courtesy of Sister Bernarda. She’s got a great green thumb!

    Sister Veronica

  6. Thea permalink
    September 30, 2008 8:14 pm

    Sister, I would be very interested in reading about how you came to hear the call of your vocation, what sort of obstacles you encountered, what the first visits to the sisters were like (in how they “felt” to you) and also what it was like to divest yourself of all worldly goods. Do you find your self more detached from all materialism, now, or do you find yourself still collecting things that you later have to deal with? The day-to-day interior life of a sister…thanks

  7. Mary permalink
    October 6, 2008 9:54 am

    I would also like to know about how being a Franciscan makes life different for you. Not what you do as a sister, but what Franciscan spirituality does to you inside.

    Thanks and God bless.

Leave a Reply

