Skip to content

It’s getting cold…

October 21, 2008

Well, it’s really starting to get cold here. I turned the heat on for the first time yesterday, and my sweater has been getting lots of use. The leaves are turning too. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures to share. The last few weeks have just flown by.  It’s been almost three weeks since my parents were here visiting. It seems like only a few days ago. How time flies. I’m learning a lot in my classes about the Catechism, but am at a standstill in my writing assignment on St. Paschal Baylon. Hopefully inspiration will come along shortly.

Ok, I’m going to go off on a tangent here, but maybe it will spark a conversation. It is interesting to me how society in general is geared towards measuring productivity.(which in itself isn’t bad)  It is extremely apparent to me as I have transitioned into community life, that I “measure” productivity in myself as well. It took a long time, and I can still sometimes get into this rut of thinking that because I’m not actively out working that I’m not productive. Before entering, I was so used to the 40+ hour work week, and after that was no longer a reality it was quite an adjustment.  Now I’ve realized that being “productive” is quantitatively & qualitatively different for me than it used to be. Now it’s about time management more specifically. Consequently a couple of the things I ask myself at the end of the day is- “Did I use my time effectively?” “Did I waste time today?”, etc. To me, one of the challenges of our daily schedule is that things are not so structured. We have set times for the Liturgy of the Hours, Rosary, Holy Mass, Classes, meals, etc. But things such as your spiritual reading, Scripture reading, Mental prayer, Particular Examen & General Examination of Conscience are done at the time of your choosing. So, it’s freeing in a way, but challenging at the same time.

Anyway, thats all I can think of at this moment. Thanks for the suggestions on helping my writers block.

Sister Veronica

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2008 9:04 am

    Dear Sr Veronica, our life is also unstructured in the way yours is too. Many enclosed communities do have lectio, prayer, etc at definite times, but like your community, we don’t either and I also find it difficult. I was used to a lot of structure in my job and I am naturally ordered so this has been a big challenge for me. It is just too easy to put something off then the day has gone and it’s got missed altogether or I am rushing to put it in. My answer to it was to create my own structure – but even with this it’s not easy. A few weeks ago I finally got something that will work and I gave my novice mistress a copy and asked her to help me to keep to it. That might sound childish but in a sense we become children when we enter a community and we need to. We need to to become humble and make room for God, we need to become like little children to enter the kingdom of heaven. This is a bit long – sorry – but I understand where you are coming from, maybe it would help you to do this too? I think it’s one of God’s challenges, i almost hear him saying – yes you can do the order, the structure so, lets take it away and let you grow with that one. pax sr marie therese.

  2. Denise permalink
    October 21, 2008 5:56 pm

    I can see how that would be hard because the day probably goes by pretty fast for you. It might be late afternoon and you suddenly realize you have to do those things. Or worse, 10pm and you realize you’ve forgotten to do something.

  3. October 22, 2008 3:58 am

    Sister Marie Therese-

    You had such a creative solution. I wouldn’t have thought to do that but I appreciate the suggestion. I don’t think it’s childish at all, different things work for different people. It’s funny how as I read your comment so much strikes me- you brought me to another area that needs some work. My becoming/retaining a childlike attitude toward God and community. I thank God that he gives me such reminders through you. God is Good!

    Sister Veronica

  4. October 22, 2008 4:02 am

    Denise-

    Yes, time managment has definately been a challenge. For example, last night it was 8:30pm and I still hadn’t made my Holy Hour. So, I marched myself down to Chapel right then. Nevermind that I’m normally almost asleep by 8:30. So, that is just one example. It’s a learning process.

    Hope you are having a great day.

    Sister Veronica

  5. Denise permalink
    October 23, 2008 3:59 am

    Thanks, I am having a great day. Well thats awesome that you accomplished your holy hour at that hour. Do you have to do one every day? That’s a good idea too, what Sister Marie Therese suggested because if you can notify someone that you have designed a schedule that you are trying to stick to, it does seem to be much easier that your schedule works. I’ve done that at work before when I had a task that was difficult and I’ve been tempted to sweep it under the rug. In that case, I would write a detailed email to my boss for her advice and just so she’s aware of it. When I do that, I find that the difficult task is easier to do.

  6. Denise permalink
    October 31, 2008 7:31 pm

    Is all Saints Day a holy day of obligation? Our bulletin says we are having an All Saints Day Mass at 9:15 am tomorrow, however it does not say that it is a holy day of obligation. It just says you can bring pictures of deceased relatives. I’m bringing a picture of my grandpa and grandma. My grandma is still alive, but he has passed away. I’m planning on going just to be safe because of places I’ve read this day is a day of obligation. However, no where in my bulletin does it mention this as a holy day of obligation. I must have missed that information somewhere. Usually the bulletin will announce these holy days quite clearly. I’ll be going just to be safe. I did have to work that day, but I got permission from my boss to go to Mass. Then I’ll go back to work and keep working until my other appointment which she was so kind to allow me to go to. It will be a busy day tomorrow.

  7. November 1, 2008 5:09 pm

    Denise,

    I haven’t checked the blog in a few days–sorry about that. All Saints Day is not a Holy Day of Obligation because it falls on a Saturday. However, we are daily communicants, so that is never an issue. Hope you have had a wonderful Solemnity of All Saints. We sure did.

    God bless!

    Sister Veronica

  8. Denise permalink
    November 1, 2008 6:39 pm

    Yes it was a very nice celebration, a childrens mass with a childrens choir. It was very touching to hear their voices. They got dressed up as saints and were very adorable. I guess I didn’t have to go because it’s not a holy day of obligation, but I did get to put my grandpa’s picture in a bowl which will be posted somewhere along with other pictures of deceased people. I’m happy my grandpa got to be a part of it, he would have wanted it that way. Your life of being a daily communicants sounds so enticing. I’m hoping it will work out for me, in whatever community I choose to enter.

Leave a Reply

