Skip to content

Spiritual Reading

January 14, 2009
Spiritual Reading

 Spiritual reading is an important part of growth in the spiritual life. It is a most valuable resource in learning about God, the Saints, and about the spiritual life in general. Our Constitutions oblige us to spend at least 15 minutes a day in spiritual reading. (how could one limit oneself to just 15 minutes?)

So, I’d like to hear from you… What are you all reading these days. Personally there are at least 5-6 books at a time that I’m working on. Some of them include the Autobiography of Dina Belanger, The True Spouse of Christ by St. Alphonsus Ligouri, a book on prayer by Fr. Benedict Groeschel… Ok, I admit it, that was only three, but right this second I can’t think of the names of the rest. Needless to say, my visiting a library is a great temptation 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    January 14, 2009 10:12 pm

    Sadly I havent done any spiritual reading lately, not even the bible =(. I was loaned a book about a nun who left the convent though. It did have a lot of interesting ‘common knowledge’ (I don’t know if thats the right word) about nuns that I didn’t know before. Like how in the old days sisters covered their wrists with their sleeves. Also, how a religious women is not supposed to touch men even to give a reassuring pat. (I never do that anyway). And its not appropriate to have idle conversations with men. This was a love story sort of but it had an interesting perspective on how people view nuns.

  2. January 15, 2009 7:51 am

    Hi Denise,

    Well, it’s never too late to start spiritual reading. An easy way to get started is to pick up a book on a saint that you admire, or want to learn something about, or pick up a spiritual book by an author that you find inspiring.(Fr. Benedict Groeschel, CFR for example) Happy reading! 🙂

  3. January 15, 2009 1:33 pm

    Hi Sister Veronica,

    I started doing spiritual reading on Christmas. Unfortunately, the only book I have at home is the Gospel (that’s what I’m reading) and don’t know what else to pick at the library. Anyway, my choice is pretty good enough for a beginner, isn’t it? 😉

  4. January 15, 2009 3:27 pm

    Hello Nuria,

    Absolutely, the Bible is a perfect place to start. Excellent choice. I guess I should’ve stated in differently- in our Constitutions we are obliged to do 15 minutes of spiritual reading, on top of Scripture reading.(which is why I didn’t suggest the Bible right away) Thank you for pointing that out and helping me to clarify my thoughts.

    God bless, Sister Veronica

Leave a Reply

