Skip to content

Memorial of Saint Sharbel Makhlouf

July 24, 2009
Saint Sharbel Makhlouf (1828-1898)
Saint Sharbel Makhlouf (1828-1898)

**Image courtesy of Wikipedia**

Saint Sharbel was born in Biqa-Kafra, Lebanon to poor Maronite parents.  He entered the Monastery of St. Maron in Annaya at the age of 23 and was ordained to the priesthood six years later. Later in his monastic life he lived a solitary life as a hermit.  Wikipedia has a nice biographical article, check it out.

Saint Sharbel Makhlouf, pray for us!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 8:51 am

    St Charbel or Mar Charbel proved to me when I was a non-believer that he really, truly is a Saint in his time not mine.

    A True Story:
    I visited Lebanon a few years ago, my sister & brother in-law took me to St Charbel’s Monastery when he was newly ordained. I went with them doubting that he’s a Saint; saying to myself God alone knows who’s a Saint. As I was in the church I kept making deals with him, if you are a Saint, prove it. Move a chair, turn a candle off…Do something so I can believe in you…..Needless to say, nothing out of the ordinary happened. I came back home, thinking that these people are all crazy..
    Five years later, my husband and I were driving to NY as we often did to go shopping, see a show..etc. my husband knew the road like the palm of his hand. Yet that time, he took a wrong exit as we were talking and suddenly realized that he was in a strange area. He said I’ll turn around and go back….All of a sudden, I started shaking like a leaf in the wind…I could not stop, did not know what happened to me…My whole body shook constantly, my husband panicked but he was on the left lane of a busy three lane highway. He used his signal & blinker tried in vain to get someone to move for him so he could pull over and check on my situation…No one gave him a chance to move even one lane…After a few minutes of this agonizing experience, all of a sudden, both lanes opened up for him a he took a straight exit to a large parking lot. All of a sudden My shaking totally stoped. I raised my head to tell that and I saw the main entrance of a church with St Charbel’s picture…That was St Charbel Church in NJ. That is when I sobbed and confessed my faith in him as a Saint; my Saint St Charbel, in his own time not mine showed me that he indeed is a miraculous Saint Charbel . Since than, every time I travel to Lebanon my first stop is St Charbel’s Monastery in Annaya…..St Charbel please pray for us. Amen

Leave a Reply

